aquarius press

Publishing and Digital Strategies

Mac & Irene: A WWII Saga

by Margot McMahon

June 2021




Illustrations by Franklin McMahon

Mac & Irene: A WWII Saga, is based on the true story of Franklin “Mac” McMahon, Emmy and Peabody Award-winning artist-reporter and filmmaker. In WWII, McMahon was a U.S. Army Air Corps B-17 navigator who survived the Stalag 13 POW camp to return home to Chicago and his sweetheart Irene. McMahon later served as the courtroom artist for the Emmet Till Trial and the infamous Chicago “conspiracy” Trial of 1969/70. McMahon was also a U.S. Presidential artist. Mac & Irene: A WWII Saga is first of a trilogy on McMahon’s legendary life and career.

Margot McMahon has received several writing awards and authored non-fiction books for adults and young adults including The Fifth Season, the recipient of the 2020 Mate E. Palmer First Place Book Award. Margot, an internationally-awarded sculptor, lives in Chicago with her husband and visiting three grown children.

<span>%d</span> bloggers like this: